Peerio retains your information only as long as it’s necessary for you to use the app. Activity logs with information like IP addresses and login timestamps are erased after 30 days.
If you delete a message you’ve sent to other people, it won’t be removed from our servers until everyone else has deleted it from their accounts, since it belongs to all participants in the chat. Once that happens, the message and information about it—timestamps, size, sender/recipient—will be securely wiped within 24 hours.
If you delete a file, anyone you've shared it with will lose access immediately, and its content (and metadata) will be erased from Peerio’s servers within 24 hours.
When you delete your account, Peerio removes all your data after 24 hours—with the exception of your account username, your public key(s), and any contributions to chats that haven't been deleted from other participants' accounts, which stay encrypted on our server. We need to keep this information so that your former contacts can find and open your old messages. It also helps us prevent hackers from fraudulently impersonating your deleted account.
Whenever you send invitations to external users, we keep their email address in our databases for 90 days so that we can notify you if and when they join. Past that time, we delete their info.